12 area high school students were honored over the weekend at the Governor’s Scholar Recognition Ceremony in Des Moines. In addition to being recognized as the state’s brightest students, nearly all of the honorees participate in school activities. Those honored from this area include Joanna Reeves of Lone Tree, Tara Gent of Mid-Prairie, Mariah Lyle of Keota, Nicole Hershberger of Iowa Mennonite, Stephanie Tener of Highland, Justin Graber of WACO, Isacc Gardner of Washington, Michaela Gretter of Sigourney, Grant Fricke of Winfield-Mount Union, Nathan Smith of Wapello, Tanner Liechty of Mt. Pleasant and Anna Miller also of Mt. Pleasant.