Washington County is one of three counties that Governor Kim Reynolds named in a disaster proclamation Tuesday. The disaster proclamation was issued for Washington, Muscatine, and Mills Counties in response to severe weather beginning May 17th and continuing. Residents of these three counties can now qualify for the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program and the Disaster Case Management Program. Washington County Emergency Management Coordinator Marissa Reisen can assist people with the programs available, “Residents who have been affected by the storms and the flooding since May 17th can apply for individual assistance. If anybody needs that or has questions they can give me a call.”

The Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with an income of up to 200% of the federal poverty level. The grants can be used for home or car repairs, clothing or food replacements, or temporary housing expenses. Applicants only have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim. For more information, including links to apply click here.