Farmers in Jefferson and other southeast Iowa Counties are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated Davis County as a primary natural disaster area due to a recent drought. Agricultural producers who have suffered losses and damages in Davis as well as Appanoose, Jefferson, Monroe, Van Buren and Wapello counties may apply for Farm Service Agency emergency loans. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. Producers have until April 1st, 2019 to apply for emergency loans to help cover part of their actual losses.