The Kalona Optimist club received recognition for their work at the Iowa District Awards Night at Little Amana on April 16th.

The organization received a club banner patch recognizing them for raising an average of $198 per member during the Optimist International 2014-15 year. That was the highest total in the district. Club Secretary Treasurer Sheryl Miller and past President Ron Slechta were recognized for “Bringing Out the Best” and the Honor Club. Dennis Phares was recognized as Optimist of the Year for the Iowa District. Phares is the current Iowa District Optimist Governor and elect. It is the second time he has been named Optimist of the Year.