Governor Chet Culver has added Washington County to a list of disaster areas that have been affected by severe weather. Washington and 46 other counties in the state, including Johnson and Jefferson in southeast Iowa, are now eligible for funds from the State Individual Assistance Program, which provides up to $5,000 in reimbursements for damages incurred for individuals and families whose income is less than 200% above poverty level.  Using those standards, individuals making $21,660 or less, and a family of four making $44,100 or less, are eligible for assistance funds.  For more information, visit the Department of Human Services website at dhs.state.ia.us.

Tags: , , , ,